Categories
Santeria

Santeria : Ashé

Ashé is one of the most used terms of Santeria. However, most of us, when we begin to learn the concepts and their meanings while taking our first steps in religion, we receive the brief explanation that the Ashé is a blessing or in some case a vital power or a powder that is given […]

Categories
Santeria

How to prepare a sacred altar at home

Before creating a “Spiritual Boveda” Spiritual Altar to the ancestors, several preliminary steps need to occur. First the room should be clean and neat. After the alter is configured it should stay as clean as possible. Ifa teaches that dirt and disorder can attract unwanted spiritual forces.This may seem simplistic, but it is of well […]

Categories
IFA Santeria

Santeria: Every 28th of June we celebrate Oggun’s day

Oggun is the Orisha that represents and is the patron of the blacksmiths, of the wars, of technology, of the surgeons of the army as well as everything that needs uniforms and of all the ones that works in some way or another with the metals or some metal in particular. Oggun the Orisha warrior […]

Categories
Santeria

The 25th of june is the day of Oke in the Santeria

Oke is the Orisha of the hill, of the mountains and of the heights, all elevations of the earth. It represents the perfection of the primordial state of man that is born of Olodumare and returns to him. It symbolises the mysteries of Olofin and the firmness of Mother Earth. With it’s Ota (stone), he […]

Categories
IFA Santeria

The power of ancestors

Ifa teaches that the power to effectively invoke Spirits comes as a result of initiation and the training that is sanctioned by initiation. The exception to this rule is egun (ancestor spirits). In Ifa, there are ancestor initiations (egungun, isegun, ato), but everyone is believed to have the power and the ability to communicate with […]

Catégories
Ifa Non classé

Le 25 juin est le jour de OKE

Oke est l’Orisha de la colline, des montagnes et des hauteurs ou élévations de la terre. Il représente la perfection de l’état primordial de l’homme né d’Olodumare et qui lui revient. C’est le symbolisme des mystères d’Olofin et de la fermeté de la Terre nourricière. Avec sa pierre, il pilonne les herbes ou l’Ashé del […]

Catégories
Ifa Non classé Panthéon Orishas Santeria

6 juin : Le jour de Oshosi

La manifestation d’Ochosi dans le Panthéon Yoruba, c’est un Orisha chasseur et le protecteur de ceux qui ont des problèmes avec la justice, appartient au groupe des orishas appelés guerriers ayaegun, qui sont reçus comme l’une des premières consécrations dans la religion Yoruba. Dans cette religion, il est considéré comme le dieu de la prison […]

Catégories
Ifa Non classé

Mexico : Voyage au coeur de la fête des morts

Le jour des morts au Mexique est une fête incroyable qui vaut la peine d’être vécue. Depuis 2003 l’organisation des Nations Unis pour l’éducation, les sciences et la culture (UNESCO) reconnait cette tradition mexicaine comme patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité. Notre famille spirituelle propose une immersion totale au coeur de cette fête pour des petits […]

Catégories
Santeria

La santeria: animisme

Les piliers fondamentaux de la religion sont le culte aux ancêtres morts ou « eguns » et les croyances animistes qui affirment que tous les éléments de la nature sont animés par des esprits. C’est une religion monothéiste qui reconnaît un seul dieu qui a tout crée même si elle a des pratiques polythéistes.

Catégories
Santeria

Le terme « Santeria »

Le terme « Santeria » fut utilisé par les Espagnols de façon péjorative pour se moquer de l’apparente dévotion excessive des esclaves qu’ils avaient amené d’Afrique, envers les saints. Les maîtres catholiques ne permettaient pas aux esclaves de pratiquer leurs différentes croyances animistes africaines et ceux-là trouvèrent là, une manière de contourner cette interdiction